wownews.co.uk

  • increase font size
  • Default font size
  • decrease font size

'New Facebook feature will show all the porn sites you have visited'

E-mail Print PDF

porn-watchingTECHNOLOGY experts are warning a new Facebook feature will display the porn sites you have visited - for all your friends to see.

 

Respected blog Techwag claims Facebook users should prepare for embarrassing connections to porn sites to start appearing in their timelines once the new feature goes live.

The timeline feature means users will now have a record of surfing activities when on Facebook - and so will others who view their page.

If a porn site uses 'passive sharing options' on Facebook, has “like” buttons on its page or allows people to sign into their site using your Facebook details then all these details will be recorded on the timeline.

However this will only occur if the user chooses to interact with porn sites.

Techwag blogger Rmorrill said he had already seen evidence of it and blogged: “Imagine my surprise to see a couple of porn sites this morning using Facebook Connect, and yes, they knew who I was.

“Embarrassed possibly, more humoured because this really is how the adult industry is going to get into social media and it will be done because users rarely log out of Facebook (even that might not help) and Facebook connect is everywhere.”

Another techie site Mashable.com warned that letting apps place a huge amount of information into timelines and granting Apps access to your feeds and activities threw up a whole new raft of serious privacy issues.

Pete Cashmore claimed on the site: “It could be the news articles you read online, the videos you watch, the photos you view, the music you listen to, or any other action within the site or App. Facebook calls this auto-sharing 'Gestures'.”


Read More Related Articles

Add comment


Security code
Refresh

Social Bookmarking